Search all Fields:
Lastname

jjs12@rice.edu
Farah Ashraf
farah.ashraf@rice.edu
Graduated May 2016
Hans Ave Lallemant

Emeritus Professor


ave@rice.edu

Keywords:

structural geology


Research Summary:

Hans is a structural geologist interested in how the crust deforms during mountain building and along transform margins.

Kendra Baldwin
klb9@rice.edu
Austin Blaser
austin.blaser@gmail.com
Graduated August 2016
Keywords:

volcanism, Hawaii, two-phase flow, bubbles, solubility, numerical modeling, deformation


Research Summary:

My thesis focused on how magma is transported from depth to the surface at Kilauea Volcano, Hawaii. A great natural laboratory for this is Hawaii, where a long-lived eruption is ongoing (1983-present).

Jackson S. Borchardt
jsborchardt2@gmail.com
Lin Boynton

Research Assistant


lsb3@rice.edu
Research Summary:

Using synthetic biology to develop a microbial biosensor for use in soil systems.

Rachel Buissereth
rtb3@rice.edu
Wenrong Cao
caowenrong@gmail.com
website

Keywords:

Magmatism-tectonism-climate interaction, evolutions of continents


Research Summary:

I am interested in the structures and evolutions of continental arcs and how the geological processes (e.g. magmatism, tectonism, erosion) contribute to the formation of continents and their impacts on global climate.

Jianxiong Chen
jianxong.chen@rice.edu
Min Chen

Research Scientist


Room Number: 318
(713) 348-2515
min.chen@rice.edu
website

Keywords:

Geophysics, full waveform tomography, ambient noise, earthquakes, tectonics, lithospheric structure, mantle melt


Research Summary:

Seismic tomography of the crust and the upper mantle. Interpretations of seismic images regarding the formation of tectonic units such as plateaus, basins, and orogens.

Xu Chu
Room Number: 325
xu.chu@rice.edu
website
Google Scholar Link
Summer 2016
Keywords:

Petrology, Metamorphism, Thermodyanmics, Decarbonation


Research Summary:

I have a long-standing research interest in developing petrological thermodynamics and kinetics. I combine the modeling tools with field geology and geochemistry, to understand the histories recorded in natural rocks and the tectonic evolution of orogenic belts.

Cailey B. Condit
413-687-1320
cailey.condit@rice.edu
website
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

structural geology, metamorphic petrology, deformation mechanisms, strain localization, seismic anisotropy, geochronology, orogenic architecture, subduction zone geology


Kelsey Crocker
k.crocker@alumni.rice.edu
Joshua Crozier
josh.crozier@rice.edu
Graduated May 2016
Steve Danbom
steved@rice.edu
Jonathan R. Delph
jrdelph@rice.edu
website
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

Seismology, Tectonics


Research Summary:

I focus on creating high-resolution seismic images of the crust and upper mantle with passive data to learn about the temporal evolution of the continental lithosphere in both actively deforming and stable (cratonic) regions.

Adeene Denton

Former President of Rice Undergraduate Geosciences Society (RUGS)
Current Co-Vice President of RUGS


(210) 834-7472
Adeene.denton@rice.edu
Research Summary:

Field and structural geology + numerical modeling applied to terrestrial and planetary science questions

Megan Duncan
megan.s.duncan@rice.edu
Ziqian Fan
zf8@rice.edu
Resume
Fall 2015 - Graduated May 2017
Keywords:

Energy Industry, Oil & Gas, Finance, Energy Consulting


Research Summary:

Highly motivated students with direct analytical and results-driven experience in industry and academy. Seeking professional development opportunities to leverage and to improve my skills in energy consulting and industry analysis.

William C. Farrell
(732) 865-2388
wcf2@rice.edu
website
CV

Keywords:

Particle-based modeling, numerical modeling, tectonics, geomorphology, surface processes, landscape evolution


Research Summary:

My doctoral research focuses on developing a particle-based numerical model of the coupled tectonic and geomorphologic processes along the Hikurangi margin on the Northern Island of New Zealand.

Meron Fessahaie

undergraduate


meron.s.fesshaie@rice.edu
Graduated May 2015
Elizabeth Finley
elizabeth.a.finley@rice.edu
Graduated May 2016
Maria Furtney
Room Number: 211
mf38@rice.edu
website

Keywords:

volcanology, geophysics


Research Summary:

https://www.linkedin.com/in/maria-furtney-62a49263

Anna Ruth Halberstadt
Room Number: 230A
(919) 810-6946
awh3@rice.edu

Keywords:

Antarctica, sedimentology, glacial dynamics, geomorphology


James Harris
jimmy.harris@rice.edu
Clinton R. Heider

Linux /Unix Systems Administrator


Room Number: 309 Keith Wiess Geology Lab
(713) 348-5639
heider@rice.edu
Bonnie L L. Hoffman

Senior Technology Support Specialist


bonnieho@rice.edu
Alexandra K. Holmes
Alexandra.K.Holmes@rice.edu
Graduated May 2018
Hehe Jiang
hehe.jiang@rice.edu
website

Keywords:

geochemistry; U-Pb geochronology; pseudotachylite; arc unroofing; agate;


Brian Jordan
brian.jordan@rice.edu
Eric Kiser
edk2@rice.edu
website
Larisa LaMere
(832) 941-2181
lml5@rice.edu
Cin-Ty Lee
cintylee@gmail.com
Yuan Li
yuan.li@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

Geochemistry of Volatiles C-N-S-H & Chalcophile-Siderophile Elements; Planetary Magma Oceans; Geofluids; Ore Deposits


Shuning Li

Post-Doctoral Research Associate


Room Number: 318
Shuning.Li@rice.edu
Jingxuan Liu
(832)421-2611
Jingxuan.Liu@rice.edu
Graduated May 2016
Tamunoisoala LongJohn
tamunoisoala.longjohn@rice.edu
Resume

Keywords:

discrete element model, fractures, microstructural evolution


Research Summary:

My research focus is on numerical simulations of biaxial experiments using a discrete element model. I hope to understand the microstructural evolution in rocks from fracture initiation to failure and beyond.

Lexi Malouta
alexandra.malouta@rice.edu
website
Graduated May 2017
Keywords:

serpentinite, igneous and metamorphic petrology, geochemistry, arcs


Iliana McCloud
inm1@rice.edu
Joseph McGlone
jmcglone@rice.edu
Clint M. Miller

Postdoctoral Research Scientist


clint.m.miller@rice.edu
website
Google Scholar Link
CV
Resume

Keywords:

Oceanography, Geochemistry, Biogeochemistry, Arctic, Environmental


Research Summary:

Hello! My name is Clint Miller. I am a geochemist at Rice University. My research focuses on understanding the biogeochemistry of shallow organic-rich ocean sediments. These sediments undergo complex alteration prior to deep burial. Specific locations of study include Arctic East Siberian continental shelf/slope, offshore Peru, and Sea of Japan.

Rebecca Minzoni
rlt1@rice.edu
Ben Nguyen

Systems Administrator - Unix/Linux


ben.nguyen@rice.edu
Chris Ike. Odezulu
christopher.I.odezulu@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

Coastal Geology, Sedimentology, Stratigraphy, Paleotempestology.


Audrey Odwuor
aao3@rice.edu
Graduated May 2017
Emily Paine
emily.c.paine@rice.edu
Graduated May 2016
Immaculada Palomeras Torres
Immaculada.Palomeras.Torres@rice.edu
Left Rice in Summer 2015 for Spain
Xiaojiao Pang
xiajiao.pang@rice.edu
Mani Pirouzbakht
760-201-6399
mp38@rice.edu
Graduated May 2016
Lindsay O. Prothro
lindsay.prothro@rice.edu
website
Google Scholar Link
CV

Keywords:

Glacial geology, marine geology, sedimentology, stratigraphy


Research Summary:

My research is motivated by the need for an understanding of complex ice-ocean interactions that influence ice sheet stability. Using detailed sedimentology coupled with high-resolution bathymetric data, I define paleo-environments that are critical in determining timing, rates, style, and processes involved in past ice sheet retreat. My work is centered on Antarctic glacial margins, primarily in the Ross Sea and Marguerite Bay.

Fatma Rekik
fr10@rice.edu
Withdrew
Victor Remishevsky
vrem@rice.edu
website
Julia Ribeiro
juliaribeiro@rice.edu
website
End Date: 1 March 2017 Research Summary:

My research combines radiogenic isotope and trace element geochemistry, volatile and sulfur isotope analyses in mineral-hosted melt inclusions, petrology, field work (i.e., marine expeditions) and simple geodynamic equations to investigate the geochemical cycles of the deep Earth. In particular, I examine the deep cycles of sulfur and water to investigate whether or not volatiles are lost during subduction or fluxed back from the mantle to the surface through magmatism and degassing. My research also focusses on the petrogenesis of subduction zone magmas, the composition of the fluids released during subduction processes and mantle heterogeneities.

Elli Ronay
err2@rice.edu
Research Summary:

Geochemical characterization of ash beds in the Cretaceous Eagle Ford Formation with interest in dissolved ash serving as a biological nutrient.

Sriparna Saha
713-298-1542
sriparna.saha@rice.edu
website
CV

Keywords:

Experimental petrology ; Igneous processes ; Continental lithospheric mantle; Mid Lithospheric Discontinuity; Cratons ; Amphibole ; Phlogopite


Research Summary:

Metasomatic processes in the continental lithospheric mantle and their role in physical and chemical properties beneath continents.

Cemile Nur Schuba
cnk2@rice.edu
website

Keywords:

Seismic data interpretation, attribute analysis, structural geology, seismic reflection data processing, hyper-extension


Research Summary:

I currently focus on the Galicia-Newfoundland conjugate margins and how the extension factor (β) is related to narrow and wide rifting modes, and oceanic core complexes.

Angela N. Seligman

Stable Isotope Lab Manager


(713) 348-4054
ans11@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

isotope geochemistry, mass spectrometry, volcanology, paleoclimatology, analytical technique and method development, aqueous geochemistry


Ben P. Skrla
(979)248-1439
ben.skrla@rice.edu
Fall 2016 - Graduated May 2017
Keywords:

geology, geoscience, energy, oil, gas, business, graduate, masters


Rahul Sudhakar
281-785-5862
rs72@rice.edu
website

Keywords:

Geologist, Petrophysicist, Geomechanics, Pore Pressure Prediction, Well Log Analyst, Drilling Parameter Interpretation, Seismic Data Interpretation, Code Development, Texas A&M University


Yen Sun
ys2@rice.edu
Travis Swanson
713-348-4675
travis.swanson@gmail.com
website
Travis Swanson
ts42@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link
William Symes

Noah Harding Professor (Computational and Applied Mathematics), Professor (Earth Science)


symes@rice.edu
website

Keywords:

Inverse problems, computational geophysics, software engineering


Research Summary:

computational methods for simulation and inverse problems in geophysics, mathematical and numerical analysis of partial differential equations governing wave propagation, software for simulation and optimization.

Anna C. van Brummen
abrummen@princeton.edu
Research Summary:

I have done two independent projects. For the first I examined stromatolite growth and distribution to determine paleoclimate of the area and for the second I imaged the depth of the Moho beneath Princeton.

Chengzu Wang
chengzu.wang@rice.edu
website
Google Scholar Link
Resume

Keywords:

Plate Tectonics, Geodynamics, Tectonophysics.


Research Summary:

Plate velocities relative to global hotspot reference frame;
Hotspot motion from surface observation of hotspot track trends;
Pattern of seismic anisotropy and relationship with absolute plate motion.

Chenhao Yang
chenhao.yang@rice.edu
Gang Yao
gy14@rice.edu
Wenshan Yu
Wenshan.Yu@rice.edu
Fall 2015 - Graduated May 2017
Admin Z
riceearthscience1@gmail.com
Beineng Zhang

Senior


bei@rice.edu

Keywords:

geophysics, seismology, crust and lithosphere


Tuo Zhang
tuo.zhang@rice.edu
Resume
Research Summary:

1. Investigated the Cocos-Nazca-Pacific Plate circuit non-closure from latest bathymetry dataset. Identified the new Malpelo and Coiba plate from Nazca plate separated by diffuse plate boundary.

2. Conducted structural modeling of North America and South America plate, and Qaidam Basin, by fluid mechanics methods. Applied thin viscous sheet models to diffuse plate boundaries of both oceanic crust and continental crust, estimated the strain rate and investigated deformation in this region.

3. Investigated oblique spreading of mid-ocean ridges by comparing the strikes with directions determined from best-fitting angular velocity. Built geodynamic models to analyze plume effects and the stress and strain field of the oceanic lithosphere.

Zuyue Zhang
Zuyue.Zhang@rice.edu
Fall 2015 - Graduated May 2017
Zhenchen Zou
zhenchen.zou@rice.edu
Graduated May 2016