Search all Fields:
Role Last Name
Postdoctoral Fellow Benxin Chi
Room Number: 170E Dell Butcher Hall
Benxin.Chi@rice.edu

PhD Student Mei Chien
Room Number: KWGL
Mei.Chien@rice.edu
Fall 2020
Past Proteek Chowdhury
Room Number: KWGL 213
(832) 705-2385
pc27@rice.edu
website

Keywords:

Experimental Petrology, Geochemistry, Igneous processes, sulfur in subduction zone


Research Summary:

I am interested in Earth's deep sulfur cycle, the fate of sulfur at subduction zones and deep mantle processes that constrain the stability and mobility of sulfur and it's phases in our planet.

Past Xu Chu
Room Number: 325
xu.chu@rice.edu
website
Google Scholar Link
Summer 2016
Keywords:

Petrology, Metamorphism, Thermodyanmics, Decarbonation


Research Summary:

I have a long-standing research interest in developing petrological thermodynamics and kinetics. I combine the modeling tools with field geology and geochemistry, to understand the histories recorded in natural rocks and the tectonic evolution of orogenic belts.

Staff Travis Cochran
Room Number: 126 Keith Wiess Geology Lab
(713) 348-2161
atc6@rice.edu

Past Trevor Cole
Room Number: KWGL 230A
Trevor.L.Cole@rice.edu
Summer 2017
Adjunct Albert Coleman
ac136@rice.edu

Past Cailey B. Condit
413-687-1320
cailey.condit@rice.edu
website
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

structural geology, metamorphic petrology, deformation mechanisms, strain localization, seismic anisotropy, geochronology, orogenic architecture, subduction zone geology


PhD Student John Cornthwaite
Room Number: KWGL 307
jpcorn@rice.edu
website

Research Scientist Gelu Costin

Dr.


Room Number: KWGL 329
(713) 348-2054
g.costin@rice.edu
website
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

EPMA, Mineralogy, Thermodynamic modelling, Mantle petrology, Eclogites, Bushveld Complex


Research Summary:

Mineralogy, Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology (layered intrusions, mantle petrology and geochemistry, kimberlites, eclogites)

Past Keith Crawford
kac14@rice.edu
Fall 2017
Past Kelsey Crocker
k.crocker@alumni.rice.edu

Past Joshua Crozier
josh.crozier@rice.edu
Graduated May 2016
Past Anthony D'Souza
apd9@rice.edu
Fall 2018
Past Steve Danbom
steved@rice.edu

Professional Master Student Paloma Das
Paloma.Das@rice.edu
Fall 2020
Faculty Rajdeep Dasgupta

Maurice Ewing Professor in Earth Systems Science


Room Number: KWGL 223
(713) 348-2664
Rajdeep.Dasgupta@rice.edu
website
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

experimental petrology, geochemistry, mantle processes, magmatic processes, planetary differentiation, deep volatile cycles


Research Summary:

Raj is an experimental petrologist, who simulates the conditions of the deep Earth and planets in the lab to investigate how planets differentiate and how fluids and volatiles cycle from the interiors to the atmospheres.

Adjunct Christian Davies
Room Number: 218
Christian.Davies@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link
CV

Keywords:

soil, carbon, bioenergy, sustainability, ecosystem services, GHG, biomass, stable isotopes, leak detection, biochar, carbon sequestration


Faculty Maarten V. de Hoop

Simons Chair And Professor Of CAAM And Earth Science


Room Number: 2036 Duncan Hall
713-348-5723
mdehoop@rice.edu
website

Keywords:

seismology, geophysics, modeling


Research Summary:

inverse problems and microlocal analysis, and applications in exploration
seismology, global seismology, and geodynamics

Faculty Sylvia G. Dee

Assistant Professor


Room Number: KWGL 313
(713) 348-4889
sylvia.dee@rice.edu
website
Google Scholar Link
CV

Keywords:

paleoclimate, climate dynamics, earth system modeling, global change


Research Summary:

Sylvia is a (Paleo)climate modeler focused on water-isotopes, U.S. and Texas climate, climate proxies, the global hydrological cycle, and the energy-water nexus.

Past Aitash Deepak
ad52@rice.edu

Past Jonathan R. Delph
jrdelph@rice.edu
website
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

Seismology, Tectonics


Research Summary:

I focus on creating high-resolution seismic images of the crust and upper mantle with passive data to learn about the temporal evolution of the continental lithosphere in both actively deforming and stable (cratonic) regions.

Friend Brian Demet
brian.p.demet@rice.edu
Graduated May 2017
PhD Student Sizhuang Deng
Room Number: KWGL 320
sd62@rice.edu
Resume
Fall 2016
Keywords:

Seismology, Geophysical inverse problems


Past Adeene Denton

Former President of Rice Undergraduate Geosciences Society (RUGS)
Current Co-Vice President of RUGS


Adeene.denton@rice.edu

Research Summary:

Field and structural geology + numerical modeling applied to terrestrial and planetary science questions

1 reply

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *