Search all Fields:
Lastname
Peter Vail

Professor emeritus


vail@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

sequence stratigraphy, seismic stratigraphy, geology, exploration geophysics


Research Summary:

Peter Vail revolutionized the interpretation of seismic data in oil exploration by showing that seismic reflections correlate with global sea level changes.

Manik Talwani

Emeritus Professor


manik@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

geophysics, tectonophysics


Research Summary:

Manik is a geophysicist, who uses seismology and gravity, to better understand plate tectonics, the evolution of ocean basins and petroleum exploration.

Dale S. Sawyer

Professor


Room Number: KWG 118
dale@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

marine geophysics, tectonophysics


Research Summary:

Dale is a tectonophysicist that brings together active source seismology, geodynamic modeling, and remote-sensing to investigate the structure and evolution of the crust and sedimentary basins.

William Leeman

Emeritus Professor


leeman@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

petrology, geochemistry, volcanology, boron


Research Summary:

Bill is a petrologist/geochemist who works on the origin of subduction zone and intraplate magmas.

Dieter Heymann

Emeritus Professor


dieter@rice.edu

Keywords:

cosmochemistry


Research Summary:

Conditions in the early solar system, origin of elements, causes of elemental and isotopic inhomogeneities in the solar nebula

John B. Anderson

Maurice Ewing Professor of Oceanography


Room Number: KWGL 208
(713) 348-4884
johna@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

sedimentology, marine geology, cryosphere studies


Research Summary:

John, a sedimentologist, splits his time between studying fluvial and coastal processes in the Gulf of Mexico and the geological record of ice sheet movements in Antarctica, all in the context of Global Climate Change.