Search all Fields:
Lastname
John B. Anderson

Maurice Ewing Professor of Oceanography


Room Number: KWGL 208
(713) 348-4884
johna@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

sedimentology, marine geology, cryosphere studies


Research Summary:

John, a sedimentologist, splits his time between studying fluvial and coastal processes in the Gulf of Mexico and the geological record of ice sheet movements in Antarctica, all in the context of Global Climate Change.

Albert W. Bally

Emeritus Professor


713-348-6063
albert.w.bally@gmail.com
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

geology, exploration geophysics


Research Summary:

Bert, former head of research at Shell and past chair of the department, is a geologist who brings together geophysics and field relations to investigate the origin and evolution of mountain belts and sedimentary basins

Dieter Heymann

Emeritus Professor


dieter@rice.edu

Keywords:

cosmochemistry


Research Summary:

Conditions in the early solar system, origin of elements, causes of elemental and isotopic inhomogeneities in the solar nebula

William Leeman

Emeritus Professor


leeman@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

petrology, geochemistry, volcanology, boron


Research Summary:

Bill is a petrologist/geochemist who works on the origin of subduction zone and intraplate magmas.

Manik Talwani

Emeritus Professor


manik@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

geophysics, tectonophysics


Research Summary:

Manik is a geophysicist, who uses seismology and gravity, to better understand plate tectonics, the evolution of ocean basins and petroleum exploration.

Peter Vail

Professor emeritus


vail@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

sequence stratigraphy, seismic stratigraphy, geology, exploration geophysics


Research Summary:

Peter Vail revolutionized the interpretation of seismic data in oil exploration by showing that seismic reflections correlate with global sea level changes.