Search all Fields:
Role Lastname
PhD Student Juliana J. Spector
Room Number: KWGL 211
jules.spector@rice.edu
CV

Keywords:

biogeochemistry, aqueous geochemistry


Professional Master Student Zachary Steele
zds2@rice.edu
Fall 2017
Undergraduate Student Jackon J. Stiles
jjs10@rice.edu

PhD Student Loredana Suciu
lgs4@rice.edu

Keywords:

pyrogenic organic carbon, atmospheric chemistry, biosphere-atmosphere-climate interactions


Professional Master Student Rahul Sudhakar
281-785-5862
rs72@rice.edu
website

Keywords:

Geologist, Petrophysicist, Geomechanics, Pore Pressure Prediction, Well Log Analyst, Drilling Parameter Interpretation, Seismic Data Interpretation, Code Development, Texas A&M University


Adjunct Lori L. Summa
(713) 505-5649
llsumma@att.net

Adjunct John Sumner
John.R.Sumner@rice.edu

Thesis Masters Student Yen Sun
Room Number: 320
ys2@rice.edu

Postdoctoral Fellow Chenguang Sun

Postdoctoral Research Fellow


Room Number: 222
csun@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Research Scientist Tao Sun
Room Number: 330B
(713) 348-4054
tao.sun@rice.edu

Past Travis Swanson
Room Number: 209
713-348-4675
travis.swanson@gmail.com
Fall 2016
Postdoctoral Fellow Travis Swanson
Room Number: 209
ts42@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Past William Symes

Noah Harding Professor (Computational and Applied Mathematics), Professor (Earth Science)


symes@rice.edu
website

Keywords:

Inverse problems, computational geophysics, software engineering


Research Summary:

computational methods for simulation and inverse problems in geophysics, mathematical and numerical analysis of partial differential equations governing wave propagation, software for simulation and optimization.

Emeritus Manik Talwani

Emeritus Professor


manik@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

geophysics, tectonophysics


Research Summary:

Manik is a geophysicist, who uses seismology and gravity, to better understand plate tectonics, the evolution of ocean basins and petroleum exploration.

Postdoctoral Fellow Ming Tang
Room Number: 325
tangmyes@gmail.com
Fall 2016
Friend Mari Anna Tesi Sanjurjo
mari.a.tesi.sanjurjo@rice.edu
Graduated May 2017
Friend Mari Tesi Sanjurjo
mari.tesi@hotmail.com
Resume
Graduated May 2017
Keywords:

Geophysics, Seismic Interpretation, Sequence Stratigraphy, Seismic Attribute Analysis


Faculty Mark A. Torres

Assistant Professor (starting Fall 2017)


Room Number: 224
713-348-2371
Mark.Torres@rice.edu
website
Google Scholar Link
CV

Keywords:

low-temperature geochemistry, geobiology, surface processes


Research Summary:

Mark is a biogeochemist that studies chemical weathering, organic carbon burial, and microbe-mineral interactions.

Research Scientist Kyusei Tsuno

Research Scientist/Lab Manager


Room Number: 222
(713) 348-5098
kyusei.tsuno@rice.edu

Keywords:

Experimental petrology, Earth's deep interior, Deep volatiles cycling, Earth's and Planetary differentiation


Emeritus Peter Vail

Professor emeritus


vail@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

sequence stratigraphy, seismic stratigraphy, geology, exploration geophysics


Research Summary:

Peter Vail revolutionized the interpretation of seismic data in oil exploration by showing that seismic reflections correlate with global sea level changes.

Past Anna C. van Brummen
abrummen@princeton.edu

Research Summary:

I have done two independent projects. For the first I examined stromatolite growth and distribution to determine paleoclimate of the area and for the second I imaged the depth of the Moho beneath Princeton.

PhD Student Harsh Biren Vora

PhD student


Room Number: 212
hv6@rice.edu
CV

Keywords:

petrophysics, compaction trends, pore structure evolution, Lattice-Boltzmann, fracture propogation


Research Summary:

My research focus lies in understanding petrophysical responses of shale and pore-structure evolution upon fluid injection and expansion.

Undergraduate Student Leila Wahab
Leila.M.Wahab@rice.edu

PhD Student Chengzu Wang
Room Number: 232A
chengzu.wang@rice.edu
Resume

Keywords:

Geodynamics, Paleomagnetism, Tectonophysics.


Research Summary:

Plate velocities relative to global hotspot reference frame;
Hotspot motion from surface observation of hotspot track trends;
Pattern of seismic anisotropy and relationship with absolute plate motion.

PhD Student Xiaoyu Wang
Room Number: 201
xw33@rice.edu
CV

Keywords:

Structural Geology; Reservoir Characterization; Well logging; Discrete Element Method; Geomechanics


Research Summary:

Numerical Simulations of Forearc Deformation and Stress Switching