Search all Fields:
Role Lastname
Past Matt B. Weller
matt.b.weller@rice.edu

Staff Linda Welzenbach

ESCI Science Writer


Room Number: 117 Keith Wiess Geology Lab
(713) 348-5107
lwelzenbach@rice.edu

Professional Master Student Skyler Wheeler
Skyler.P.Wheeler@rice.edu
Fall 2016
PhD Student Daniel Woodworth
Room Number: 232A
(682) 553-9699
daniel.t.woodworth@rice.edu
Resume

Keywords:

Tectonics, Tectonophysics, Paleomagnetism


PhD Student Chenliang Wu
+868322911353
wuchenliang1@gmail.com
Google Scholar Link
Resume

Friend Guangchi Xing
guangchi.xing@rice.edu

Past Guangchi Xing
joshuashiing.rice@gmail.com

PhD Student Neng Xiong
Room Number: 230A
nx2@rice.edu
Fall 2016
PhD Student Chenhao Yang
chenhao.yang@rice.edu

Professional Master Student Yue Yao
(832) 421-1611
missstaru@gmail.com
website
CV
Fall 2015
Keywords:

Polly, GIS, Data Visualization, Geology, Geophysics, Oil and Gas, Energy, Seismic Interpretation, Petrel, China, Deep Water, Fractures, Unconventional


PhD Student Ruichao Ye
ry12@rice.edu

Faculty Laurence Y. Yeung

Assistant Professor


Room Number: 321
(713) 348-6304
lyeung@rice.edu
website
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

Stable isotopes, clumped isotopes, atmospheric chemistry, chemical oceanography, oxygen


Research Summary:

Laurence is an expert on clumped isotope geochemistry and mass spectrometry, using these tools to explore the mechanisms and timescales of atmospheric mixing, ocean-atmosphere exchange, and biogeochemical processes.

Visiting Student Xun Yu
Room Number: 325
xy18@rice.edu

Keywords:

Mantle Geochemistry, Isotopes, Anatexis


Research Summary:

I am working on the Cenozoic basalts from eastern China and peritectic garnet from southeastern Spain.

Professional Master Student Wenshan Yu
Wenshan.Yu@rice.edu
Fall 2015
Past Admin Z
riceearthscience1@gmail.com

Undergraduate Student Samuel Zapp
smz1@rice.edu

Faculty Colin Zelt

Professor


713-348-4757
czelt@rice.edu
website
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

seismology, inverse methods, near-surface geophysics


Research Summary:

Colin is an applied seismologist who develops modeling and inverse methods for controlled-source seismic data, focused primarily on near-surface environmental and engineering studies, but also interested in exploration and tectonic studies.

PhD Student Tuo Zhang
Room Number: 232A
tuo.zhang@rice.edu
Resume

Research Summary:

1. Investigated the Cocos-Nazca-Pacific Plate circuit non-closure from latest seismic focal mechanisms and bathymetry dataset. Identified the new Malpelo and Coiba plate, and clarified the pattern of slip vectors.

2. Conducted structural modeling of North America and South America plate, and Qaidam Basin, by fluid mechanics methods. Applied thin viscous sheet models to diffuse plate boundaries of both oceanic crust and continental crust, estimated the strain rate and investigated deformation in this region.

3. Investigated oblique spreading of mid-ocean ridges by comparing the strikes with directions determined from best-fitting angular velocity. Built geodynamic models to analyze plume effects and the stress and strain field of the oceanic lithosphere.

Past Beineng Zhang

Senior


bei@rice.edu

Keywords:

geophysics, seismology, crust and lithosphere


PhD Student Julin Zhang
jz57@rice.edu

Professional Master Student Bijia Zhang
bz14@rice.edu

Keywords:

Marine Micropaleontology, Geological Modeling, Seismic Interpretation,Exploration & Production, Energy Policy


Professional Master Student Harlan Zhang
832-421-1923
hz41@rice.edu
website
Resume

Keywords:

GIS, Seismic Interpretation, Well logging, Sedimentology, Unconventional Reservoir


Professional Master Student Zuyue Zhang
Zuyue.Zhang@rice.edu
Fall 2015
Professional Master Student Yu Zhang
yz96@rice.edu
Fall 2015
Professional Master Student Nancy Y. Zhou
(832)407-0686
yz97@rice.edu
website
CV

Keywords:

Sedimentology, Geologic Mapping, Seismic Interpretation, Well Log Interpretation, Oil & Gas, Unconventional Reservoirs


Research Summary:

Study of a series of areas, including the initial beds that are overlying an Upper Cambrian microbial reef unit (Wilberns Formation) in Mason County, Central Texas. The main objective of the study is to determine the nature and diagenesis of the carbonate deposits (San Saba member) and interpret the overall depositional environment and diagenetic pathways.