Search all Fields:
Role Lastname
Professional Master Student Keith Crawford
kac14@rice.edu
Fall 2017
Past Kelsey Crocker
k.crocker@alumni.rice.edu

Past Joshua Crozier
josh.crozier@rice.edu
Graduated May 2016
Past Steve Danbom
steved@rice.edu

Faculty Rajdeep Dasgupta

Professor


Room Number: 223
713-348-2664
Rajdeep.Dasgupta@rice.edu
website
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

experimental petrology, geochemistry, mantle processes, magmatic processes, planetary differentiation, deep volatile cycles


Research Summary:

Raj is an experimental petrologist, who simulates the conditions of the deep Earth and planets in the lab to investigate how planets differentiate and how fluids and volatiles cycle from the interiors to the atmospheres.

Adjunct Christian Davies
Room Number: 218
Christian.Davies@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link
CV

Keywords:

soil, carbon, bioenergy, sustainability, ecosystem services, GHG, biomass, stable isotopes, leak detection, biochar, carbon sequestration


Faculty Maarten V. de Hoop

Simons Chair And Professor Of CAAM And Earth Science


Room Number: 2036 Duncan Hall
713-348-5723
mdehoop@rice.edu
website

Keywords:

seismology, geophysics, modeling


Research Summary:

inverse problems and microlocal analysis, and applications in exploration
seismology, global seismology, and geodynamics

Faculty Sylvia G. Dee
sylvia.dee@rice.edu
website
Google Scholar Link
CV

Keywords:

paleoclimate, climate dynamics, earth system modeling, global change


Research Summary:

Sylvia is a (Paleo)climate modeler focused on water-isotopes, U.S. and Texas climate, climate proxies, the global hydrological cycle, and the energy-water nexus.

Undergraduate Student Aitash Deepak
ad52@rice.edu

Postdoctoral Fellow Jonathan R. Delph
Room Number: 318
(713) 348-2515
jrdelph@rice.edu
website
Google Scholar Link
Fall 2016
Keywords:

Seismology, Tectonics


Research Summary:

I focus on creating high-resolution seismic images of the crust and upper mantle with passive data to learn about the temporal evolution of the continental lithosphere in both actively deforming and stable (cratonic) regions.

Friend Brian Demet
brian.p.demet@rice.edu
Graduated May 2017
PhD Student Sizhuang Deng
Room Number: 320
sd62@rice.edu
Resume
Fall 2016
Keywords:

Seismology, Geophysical inverse problems


Past Adeene Denton

Former President of Rice Undergraduate Geosciences Society (RUGS)
Current Co-Vice President of RUGS


(210) 834-7472
Adeene.denton@rice.edu

Research Summary:

Field and structural geology + numerical modeling applied to terrestrial and planetary science questions

Faculty Gerald Dickens

Professor


Room Number: 323
(713) 348-5130
jerry@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

paleooceanography, marine geology, stratigraphy


Research Summary:

Jerry is a chemist and oceanographer who combines these interests to look at a range of topics, mostly in sediments and sedimentary rocks.

Friend Shuo Ding
shuo.ding@rice.edu
Graduated May 2017
Keywords:

experimental petrology, geochemistry, sulfur, planetary science


Research Summary:

Experimental study and geochemistry modeling on sulfur dissolution in the silicate melts and sulfur distribution in different reservoirs in planetary bodies (Earth, Mars and the moon) .

PhD Student Tian Y. Dong
Room Number: 230B
tian.dong@rice.edu
CV

Keywords:

Geomorphology, Sedimentology, Stratigraphy


Research Summary:

The broad aim of my scientific research is exploring sediment transport processes and channel dynamics in rivers and deltas by coupling field observations and measurements with existing theories in geomorphology.

Faculty André W. Droxler

Professor


Room Number: K. Wiess Geol. Lab. 205
(713) 240-6518 or (713) 348-4885
andre@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

carbonate sedimentology, reef and carbonate evolution through time, climate and sea level change.


Research Summary:

André is a carbonate sedimentologist, marine geologist, and paleo-oceanographer with interests in past ocean, and sea-level changes. He is an expert on reefs and carbonate platforms from the Cambrian to the Holocene .

Adjunct Brandon Dugan

Associate Professor


dugan@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

hydrology, rock and sediment properties


Research Summary:

Brandon is a geohydrologist who combines numerical modeling with experimental constraints on rock properties to understand fluid flow and slope stability in a variety of environments.

Past Megan Duncan
megan.s.duncan@rice.edu

PhD Student James Eguchi
Room Number: KWGL 222
(909) 263-9255
james.eguchi@rice.edu

Keywords:

carbon cycle, carbonates, calcite solubility, brines, graphite, eclogite, high P-T experiments


Research Summary:

I use high pressure experiments to study how carbon is moving around and where it eventually ends up within our planet.

Professional Master Student William C. Eisenberg

77005


3147036077
weisenberg055@gmail.com
Resume

Keywords:

Eisenberg, William, Will, Texas, TCU, Texas Christian University, fun, Broman, William C. Eisenberg, Bill, Billy, Houston, Fort Worth


Research Summary:

Understanding uniaxial compressive strength changes in different lithologies is important to understand the changes in behavior of rocks under confinement in the subsurface. While laboratory testing often assesses the strength of a particular lithology, there are few studies such as that by Deere and Miller (1966) that compare a large variety of different lithologies and their overall strength. Here, we present a data compilation of strain at failure under uniaxial compression for various lithologies in order to show how widely strain data can vary in a given lithology and between different lithologies. Metadata for the study were obtained through searching existing literature. We show that the lithology strongly controls the amount of strain that a material can accumulate prior to failure and that rocks fall within predictable ranges of strain prior to failing under uniaxial compression.

Friend Graham Eldridge
graham.eldridge@rice.edu
Graduated
Friend Monica Erdman

Ph.D. Candidate


monica.e.erdman@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link
Resume
Graduated May 2017
Keywords:

Geochemistry, petrology, geodynamics, continental crust, sulfur cycle


Friend Savannah L. Ezelle
713 297 1559
sle2@rice.edu
Graduated May 2017
PhD Student Emily Falksen
Room Number: KWGL 213
emily.falksen@rice.edu
Fall 2018