Search all Fields:
Role Lastname
Past
geol@rice.edu

Adjunct Ken C. Abdulah
ken.c.abdulah@btinternet.com
CV

Adjunct Vitor Abreu
Vitor.Abreu@rice.edu

Wiess Visiting Professor Francis Albarede

Wiess Visiting Professor


Francis.Albarede@ens-lyon.fr
website
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

geochemistry, petrology, cosmochemistry


Research Summary:

Francis is an isotope geochemist with wide interests, such as planetary differentiation, cosmochemistry, geochemical modeling, biogeochemistry, medicine, geodynamics and geo-archaeology.

PhD Student Sydney Allen
Room Number: KWGL 325
sydney.m.allen@rice.edu
Fall 2018
Emeritus John B. Anderson

Maurice Ewing Professor of Oceanography


Room Number: KWGL 208
(713) 348-4884
johna@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

sedimentology, marine geology, cryosphere studies


Research Summary:

John, a sedimentologist, splits his time between studying fluvial and coastal processes in the Gulf of Mexico and the geological record of ice sheet movements in Antarctica, all in the context of Global Climate Change.

Undergraduate Student Naod Araya
nya1@rice.edu

Postdoctoral Fellow Jeanine Ash

Center for Dark Energy Biosphere Postdoctoral Investigator


jeanine.ash@rice.edu
Masiello Lab
Keywords:

clumped isotopes, biogeochemistry, methane, deep biosphere


Past Farah Ashraf
farah.ashraf@rice.edu
Graduated May 2016
Past Hans Ave Lallemant

Emeritus Professor


(713) 348-4889
ave@rice.edu

Keywords:

structural geology


Research Summary:

Hans is a structural geologist interested in how the crust deforms during mountain building and along transform margins.

Friend Sofia Avendano
sta1@rice.edu
Graduated May 2017
Friend Shola Ayandele
olusolapo.ayandele@rice.edu
Graduated May 2018
Undergraduate Student Kendra Baldwin
klb9@rice.edu

Emeritus Albert W. Bally

Emeritus Professor


713-348-6063
albert.w.bally@gmail.com
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

geology, exploration geophysics


Research Summary:

Bert, former head of research at Shell and past chair of the department, is a geologist who brings together geophysics and field relations to investigate the origin and evolution of mountain belts and sedimentary basins

PhD Student Asmita Banerjee
Room Number: KWGL 322
ab98@rice.edu
Fall 2017
Friend Yifei Bao
Yifei.Bao@rice.edu
Fall 2015 - Graduated May 2017
PhD Student Eric A. Barefoot
Room Number: 230B
(336) 416-3323
eric.barefoot@rice.edu
Fall 2016
Undergraduate Student Kyle Bartsch
kcb7@rice.edu

Thesis Masters Student Tanyel Baykut
Room Number: KWGL 210
tanyel@rice.edu
Fall 2018
Staff Dagmar K. Beck

Director, Professional Science Master's Program


Room Number: 203 Keck Hall
(713) 348-3188
dkbeck@rice.edu
website

Keywords:

Managing programs in Subsurface Geoscience, Environmental Analysis, Nanoscale Science, Bioscience and Health Policy and Space Studies in the Wiess School of Natural Sciences and engineering professional master's in Computational Science and Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Statistics, Chemical and Bimolecular Engineering, Bioengineering, Material Science and Nanoengineering, Civil Environmental Engineering, and others


Visiting Scientist Caroline Beghein
Room Number: 318
Caroline.Beghein@rice.edu
website
Google Scholar Link
Spring 2017
Keywords:

Earth’s interior, transition zone, D”, mantle deformation, seismic tomography, seismic anisotropy, mantle, inner core, forward modeling, surface waves, free oscillations, lithosphere-asthenosphere boundary, mantle flow, inverse problems


Research Summary:

I focus on modeling Earth’s interior using seismic tomography, i.e. I use seismic data and numerical methods to image the structure of the Earth’s interior, with the ultimate goal of understanding the physical processes that take place inside our planet. I also put a particular effort into obtaining reliable model uncertainties and assessing the robustness of the features seen in those models.

PhD Student Katherine Begland
Room Number: KWGL 305
klb@rice.edu
Fall 2017
PhD Student Ben Belzer
Room Number: KWGL 210
bb33@rice.edu
Fall 2017
PhD Student Joyeeta Bhattacharya
Room Number: 212
(832)705-5499
jb79@rice.edu
CV

Keywords:

Sedimentology, Stable Isotope Geochemistry, Carbon cycle, Marine Geology


Research Summary:

I am currently working on deep marine sediments to understand what impact climate changes (especially through Eocene) had on ocean floor sedimentation. My other interest is to tie up these deep ocean sedimentary dynamics with changes in deposition pattern in shallow marine setting in times of extreme warmth, like PETM and early Eocene Hyperthermals.

Adjunct Kevin Biddle
Room Number: 218
(713) 348-4675
KevinBiddle@mac.com

1 2 3 ... 8 ... Next »   Last »»