Click on the image above to access the AAPG 2020 Awards presentation.  Martha Lou Broussard receives the Michel T. Halbouty award at 33:50.

From AAPG Explorer: 

AAPG Honorary Member Martha Lou Broussard is this year’s Michel T. Halbouty Outstanding Leadership Award recipient.

Broussard holds the distinction of being the first female geology graduate of Rice University, and she was a technical assistant to M. King Hubbert prior to going on to a successful career in the oil industry with Shell Development Company and ERICO. She returned to Rice to work as the Department of Earth Science coordinator, and now volunteers as the department’s alumni coordinator.

She is a recipient of AAPG’s Distinguished Service Award and is a past vice president and chair of the AAPG House of Delegates, but is perhaps best known for helping to start the AAPG/Society of Exploration Geoscientists Student Expo program, which today forms a key role in the recruiting program of as many as 40 exploration and production companies.

Martha Lou Broussard is this year’s recipient of the AAPG Michel T. Halbouty Outstanding Leadership Award, a very high honor. Martha Lou has played a key role in the success of AAPG and our own EEPS.  She was the first woman to graduate from our department. She played key roles in AAPG and established the AAPG student expo, which is now the primary way the energy industry recruits students. Today, she continues to help our department stay in touch with alumni and help our students in professional development and networking. Under the Broussard fellowship, she continues to support and foster the careers of women in earth sciences.

We are lucky to have Martha Lou!
-Cin-Ty Lee