Manik Talwani wins 2015 Maurice Ewing Award from the SEG

Our Manik Talwani received the Society of Exploration Geophysicist’s Maurice Ewing Medal this year.  From the SEG wiki:

“The 2015 Maurice Ewing Award goes to Dr. Manik Talwani who received his PhD in 1959 from Columbia University under the tutelage of Doc Ewing, who would be justifiably proud of his student. Manik has received an amazing list of awards including the James B. Macelwane Award and the Maurice Ewing award from the American Geophysical Union, the Alfred Wegener Medal from the European Union of Geoscience, the Emile Wiechert award from the German Geophysical Society, the George P. Woollard Award from the Geological Society of America, and the Krishnan Medal from the Indian Geophysical Union, among others. In addition he has been awarded fellowship in several prestigious societies including the Russian and Norwegian Academies of Science, and an Honorary Doctorate of Philosophy from the University of Oslo. He has served in an impressive list of professional positions including Director of the Geotechnology Research Institute of the Houston Advanced Research Center, Chief Scientist at the Gulf Research & Development Company, Director of Lamont-Doherty Geological Observatory, and as Schlumberger Professor at Rice University. He has published more than 150 articles on a wide array of geophysical topics and has edited 7 geophysical books. Manik has served the SEG for many years, most recently as Chair of the SEG Advanced Modeling Corporation (SEAM).”


0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *