Search all Fields:
Lastname
Farah Ashraf
farah.ashraf@rice.edu
Hans Ave Lallemant

Emeritus Professor


(713) 348-4889
ave@rice.edu

Keywords:

structural geology


Research Summary:

Hans is a structural geologist interested in how the crust deforms during mountain building and along transform margins.

Austin Blaser
austin.p.blaser@rice.edu
Graduated May 2017
Keywords:

volcanism, Hawaii, two-phase flow, bubbles, solubility, numerical modeling, deformation


Research Summary:

I'm interested in how magma is transported from depth to the surface. A great natural laboratory for this is Hawaii, where a long-lived eruption is ongoing (1983-present).

Rachel Buissereth
rtb3@rice.edu
Svetlana Burris
svetlana.g.stadnik@rice.edu
Wenrong Cao
caowenrong@gmail.com
website

Keywords:

Magmatism-tectonism-climate interaction, evolutions of continents


Research Summary:

I am interested in the structures and evolutions of continental arcs and how the geological processes (e.g. magmatism, tectonism, erosion) contribute to the formation of continents and their impacts on global climate.

Jianxiong Chen
jianxong.chen@rice.edu
Kelsey Crocker
kelsey.e.crocker@rice.edu
Joshua Crozier
josh.crozier@rice.edu
Steve Danbom
steved@rice.edu
Adeene Denton

Former President of Rice Undergraduate Geosciences Society (RUGS)
Current Co-Vice President of RUGS


(210) 834-7472
Adeene.denton@rice.edu
Research Summary:

Field and structural geology + numerical modeling applied to terrestrial and planetary science questions

Megan Duncan
megan.s.duncan@rice.edu
Ziqian Fan
zf8@rice.edu
Resume
Fall 2015 - Graduated May 2017
Keywords:

Energy Industry, Oil & Gas, Finance, Energy Consulting


Research Summary:

Highly motivated students with direct analytical and results-driven experience in industry and academy. Seeking professional development opportunities to leverage and to improve my skills in energy consulting and industry analysis.

Meron Fessahaie

undergraduate


meron.s.fesshaie@rice.edu
Elizabeth Finley
elizabeth.a.finley@rice.edu
Anna Ruth Halberstadt
Room Number: 230A
(919) 810-6946
awh3@rice.edu

Keywords:

Antarctica, sedimentology, glacial dynamics, geomorphology


James Harris
jimmy.harris@rice.edu
Clinton R. Heider

Linux /Unix Systems Administrator


Room Number: 309 Keith Wiess Geology Lab
(713) 348-5639
heider@rice.edu
Bonnie L L. Hoffman

Senior Technology Support Specialist


bonnieho@rice.edu
Brian Jordan
brian.jordan@rice.edu
Eric Kiser
edk2@rice.edu
website
Larisa LaMere
(832) 941-2181
lml5@rice.edu
Cin-Ty Lee
cintylee@gmail.com
Yuan Li
yuan.li@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

Geochemistry of Volatiles C-N-S-H & Chalcophile-Siderophile Elements; Planetary Magma Oceans; Geofluids; Ore Deposits


Shuning Li

Post-Doctoral Research Associate


Room Number: 318
Shuning.Li@rice.edu
Joseph McGlone
jmcglone@rice.edu
Rebecca Minzoni
rlt1@rice.edu
Audrey Odwuor
aao3@rice.edu
Graduated May 2017
Emily Paine
emily.c.paine@rice.edu
Immaculada Palomeras Torres
Immaculada.Palomeras.Torres@rice.edu
Left Rice in Summer 2015 for Spain
Xiaojiao Pang
xiajiao.pang@rice.edu
Victor Remishevsky
vrem@rice.edu
website
Julia Ribeiro
juliaribeiro@rice.edu
website
End Date: 1 March 2017 Research Summary:

My research combines radiogenic isotope and trace element geochemistry, volatile and sulfur isotope analyses in mineral-hosted melt inclusions, petrology, field work (i.e., marine expeditions) and simple geodynamic equations to investigate the geochemical cycles of the deep Earth. In particular, I examine the deep cycles of sulfur and water to investigate whether or not volatiles are lost during subduction or fluxed back from the mantle to the surface through magmatism and degassing. My research also focusses on the petrogenesis of subduction zone magmas, the composition of the fluids released during subduction processes and mantle heterogeneities.

Elli Ronay
err2@rice.edu
Research Summary:

Geochemical characterization of ash beds in the Cretaceous Eagle Ford Formation with interest in dissolved ash serving as a biological nutrient.

Ben P. Skrla
(979)248-1439
ben.skrla@rice.edu
Fall 2016 - Graduated May 2017
Keywords:

geology, geoscience, energy, oil, gas, business, graduate, masters


Travis Swanson
Room Number: 209
713-348-4675
travis.swanson@gmail.com
Fall 2016
Anna C. van Brummen
abrummen@princeton.edu
Research Summary:

I have done two independent projects. For the first I examined stromatolite growth and distribution to determine paleoclimate of the area and for the second I imaged the depth of the Moho beneath Princeton.

Guangchi Xing
joshuashiing.rice@gmail.com
Wenshan Yu
Wenshan.Yu@rice.edu
Fall 2015 - Graduated May 2017
Admin Z
riceearthscience1@gmail.com
Beineng Zhang

Senior


bei@rice.edu

Keywords:

geophysics, seismology, crust and lithosphere


Zuyue Zhang
Zuyue.Zhang@rice.edu
Fall 2015 - Graduated May 2017
Zhenchen Zou
zhenchen.zou@rice.edu