Search all Fields:
Role Lastname
Friend
geol@rice.edu

Adjunct Ken C. Abdulah
ken.c.abdulah@btinternet.com
CV

Adjunct Vitor Abreu
Vitor.Abreu@rice.edu

Faculty Francis Albarede

Wiess Visiting Professor


Francis.Albarede@ens-lyon.fr
website
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

geochemistry, petrology, cosmochemistry


Research Summary:

Francis is an isotope geochemist with wide interests, such as planetary differentiation, cosmochemistry, geochemical modeling, biogeochemistry, medicine, geodynamics and geo-archaeology.

Faculty John B. Anderson

Maurice Ewing Professor of Oceanography


Room Number: 208
(713) 348-4884
johna@rice.edu
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

sedimentology, marine geology, cryosphere studies


Research Summary:

John, a sedimentologist, splits his time between studying fluvial and coastal processes in the Gulf of Mexico and the geological record of ice sheet movements in Antarctica, all in the context of Global Climate Change.

Friend Jeanine Ash
jeanine.ash@rice.edu

Past Farah Ashraf
farah.ashraf@rice.edu

Past Hans Ave Lallemant

Emeritus Professor


(713) 348-4889
ave@rice.edu

Keywords:

structural geology


Research Summary:

Hans is a structural geologist interested in how the crust deforms during mountain building and along transform margins.

Friend Sofia Avendano
sta1@rice.edu
Graduated May 2017
Professional Master Student Shola Ayandele
olusolapo.ayandele@rice.edu
Fall 2015
Undergraduate Student Kendra Baldwin
klb9@rice.edu

Emeritus Albert W. Bally

Emeritus Professor


713-348-6063
albert.w.bally@gmail.com
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

geology, exploration geophysics


Research Summary:

Bert, former head of research at Shell and past chair of the department, is a geologist who brings together geophysics and field relations to investigate the origin and evolution of mountain belts and sedimentary basins

PhD Student Asmita Banerjee
Room Number: KWGL 322
ab98@rice.edu
Fall 2017
Friend Yifei Bao
Yifei.Bao@rice.edu
Fall 2015 - Graduated May 2017
PhD Student Eric A. Barefoot
Room Number: 230B
(336) 416-3323
eric.barefoot@rice.edu
Fall 2016
Staff Dagmar K. Beck

Director of Professional Master's in Science and Engineering


Room Number: 203 Keck Hall
(713) 348-3188
dkbeck@rice.edu
website

Keywords:

Managing programs in Subsurface Geoscience, Environmental Analysis, Nanoscale Science, Bioscience and Health Policy and Space Studies in the Wiess School of Natural Sciences and engineering professional master's in Computational Science and Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Statistics, Chemical and Bimolecular Engineering, Bioengineering, Material Science and Nanoengineering, Civil Environmental Engineering, and others


Visiting Scientist Caroline Beghein
Room Number: 318
Caroline.Beghein@rice.edu
website
Google Scholar Link
Spring 2017
Keywords:

Earth’s interior, transition zone, D”, mantle deformation, seismic tomography, seismic anisotropy, mantle, inner core, forward modeling, surface waves, free oscillations, lithosphere-asthenosphere boundary, mantle flow, inverse problems


Research Summary:

I focus on modeling Earth’s interior using seismic tomography, i.e. I use seismic data and numerical methods to image the structure of the Earth’s interior, with the ultimate goal of understanding the physical processes that take place inside our planet. I also put a particular effort into obtaining reliable model uncertainties and assessing the robustness of the features seen in those models.

PhD Student Katherine Begland
Room Number: KWGL 305
klb@rice.edu
Fall 2017
PhD Student Ben Belzer
Room Number: KWGL 210
bb33@rice.edu
Fall 2017
PhD Student Joyeeta Bhattacharya
Room Number: 212
(832)705-5499
jb79@rice.edu
CV

Keywords:

Sedimentology, Stable Isotope Geochemistry, Carbon cycle, Marine Geology


Research Summary:

I am currently working on deep marine sediments to understand what impact climate changes (especially through Eocene) had on ocean floor sedimentation.

Adjunct Kevin Biddle
Room Number: 218
(713) 348-4675
KevinBiddle@mac.com

Professional Master Student Kimberly Birjue
kab20@rice.edu

PhD Student David G. Blank
Room Number: 232B
713-348-2631
dgb3@rice.edu
Fall 2015
Past Austin Blaser
austin.p.blaser@rice.edu
Graduated August 2016
Keywords:

volcanism, Hawaii, two-phase flow, bubbles, solubility, numerical modeling, deformation


Research Summary:

My thesis focused on how magma is transported from depth to the surface at Kilauea Volcano, Hawaii. A great natural laboratory for this is Hawaii, where a long-lived eruption is ongoing (1983-present).

Faculty Janne Blichert-Toft

Wiess Visiting Professor


jblicher@ens-lyon.fr
Google Scholar Link

Keywords:

geochemistry


Research Summary:

Janne is an isotope geochemisty interested in planetary differentiation, the origin and evolution of continents, and cosmochemistry.

1 2 3 ... 8 ... Next »   Last »»