Cin-Ty Lee- 2017 Guggenheim Fellow

Rice’s Cin-Ty Lee wins Guggenheim Fellowship JADE BOYD – APRIL 7, 2017 Earth scientist will study how and when continents emerged from oceans Rice University Earth scientist Cin-Ty Lee has won a prestigious Guggenheim Fellowship to investigate how and when continents emerged from the oceans and the effect of their emergence on the evolution of whole-Earth […]

Dr. Albert Bally awarded a Doctor Honoris Causa from the University of Fribourg (Switzerland)

Rice wins 1st Place Poster at AAPG Student Expo 2016

Pankaj Khanna, PhD Candidate, won the 1st Place Poster award at the AAPG Student Expo, Houston 2016. Poster title – ‘ Uppermost Pleistocene coralgal Reefs and Upper Cambrian microbial bioherms: Morphologies and sea-level induced evolution’   Poster Awards, 1st Place: Pankaj Khanna – "Uppermost Pleistocene coralgal reefs and Upper Cambrian microbial reefs: Morphologies and…" — […]

Earth Science Students Participate in Rice University’s 90 Second Thesis Competition

The Earth Science Ph.D. program fielded its first team of student participants in the university-wide 90 second thesis competition this spring.  Students Tamunoisoala LongJohn, Harsha Vora, Tuo Zhang, Zuolin Liu, and Lacey Pyle had 90 seconds to describe their Ph.D. thesis topics to a diverse panel of judges.  Follow this link here to see their […]

Janne Blichert-Toft

Janne Blichert-Toft elected as member of the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters

Janne Blichert-Toft, one of our permanent Wiess visiting scientists, was elected as a member of the Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters.  This is the highest distinction for a scientist in Denmark.  Janne’s primary home is at the Ecole Normale Superieure de Lyon in France.  She is one of the most highly cited high […]

Rice students win coveted Graduate Research Fellowships from the National Science Foundation

Every year, the National Science Foundation awards Graduate Research Fellowships to senior undergrads and beginning graduate students.  These prestigious awards provide full funding for graduate school in the fields of science, mathematics and engineering.  They are one of the most coveted awards for a young scientist.  This year, two of our current students and two […]

New Field Emission Electron Probe MicroAnalyzer installed at Keith-Wiess Geological Laboratory

New Field Emission EPMA in Rice News: “New tool probes deep into minerals and more” EPMA Lab Web page: EPMA Laboratory

IRESS Student Poster Prize Winners

  IRESS 2016 included posters presentations by 24 Earth Science students. Poster awards were presented to Brian Demet (honorable mention), Daniel Woodworth (3rd prize), Pankaj Khanna (1st prize), Monica Erdman (2nd prize), and Jie Hou (honorable mention, not in photo). Photo by Gary Linkevich.

Laurence Yeung wins 2016 F. W. Clarke award from the Geochemical Society

Laurence Yeung, assistant professor of Earth Science, will be awarded the F. W. Clarke medal from the Geochemical Society at this year’s V. M. Goldschmidt meeting in Yokohama, Japan. The award is named after Frank Wigglesworth Clarke, who determined the composition of the Earth’s crust and is considered by many to be the father of […]

Mini-flume landslide experiments

In a collaboration with Chris Paola at the University of Minnesota St. Anthony Falls Laboratory, Brandon Dugan is adding a mini-flume to Rice Geotechnical Lab. Benchtop landslide experiments starting soon.

Jie Hou – 2014 SEG Best Paper Presentation

Congratulations to grad student Jie Hou for receiving the 2014 Society of Exploration Geophysicists Best Paper Presentation! Jie Hou below with his adviser Bill Symes.

Matt Weller – AGU SEDI – Graduate Research Award 2015

Matthew Weller will receive the 2015 Study of the Earth’s Deep Interior Focus Group Graduate Research Award at the 2015 American Geophysical Union Fall Meeting, to be held 14–18 December in San Francisco, Calif. Matthew Weller received a dual B.Sc. in geology and astrophysics from the University of Toledo in 2007 and a M.Sc. in […]

Manik Talwani wins 2015 Maurice Ewing Award from the SEG

Our Manik Talwani received the Society of Exploration Geophysicist’s Maurice Ewing Medal this year.  From the SEG wiki: “The 2015 Maurice Ewing Award goes to Dr. Manik Talwani who received his PhD in 1959 from Columbia University under the tutelage of Doc Ewing, who would be justifiably proud of his student. Manik has received an […]

Monica Erdman, Brian Jordan and Clint Miller awarded at AAPG/SEG student expo

Rice students attended the AAPG/SEG Student Expo in Houston this week. In the poster competition, Monica Erdman won first place for her poster titled “Dual uplift history of the Colorado Plateau via arc magmatism and lower crustal foundering”. Brian Jordan won third place for his poster and Clint Miller got an honorable mention. Clint Miller […]

New stable isotope ratio mass spectrometer from Nu instruments installed in the Yeung Lab

New stable isotope ratio mass spectrometer from Nu instruments installed in Yeung Lab.

Ananya Mallik (PhD, 2014) receives Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellowship!

Ananya Mallik (PhD, 2015) receives Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship!

Masiello award $1 million dollar grant from the Keck Foundation

Masiello award $1 million dollar grant from the Keck Foundation to engineer microbial biosensors for soil [Article]

Graduating senior Rachel Marzen receives NSF graduate research fellowship

Graduating senior Rachel Marzen receives NSF graduate research fellowship.